Nuclear Security Group (NSG)


Nuclear Security Group (NSG)

 NSG is a group of nuclear supplier countries that seek to prevent nuclear proliferation by controlling the
export of materials, equipment and technology that can be used to manufacture nuclear weapons

 The NSG was founded in response to the Indian nuclear test in May 1974.

 Nations already signatories of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) saw the need to further limit the
export of nuclear equipment, materials or technology.

 As of 2016 the NSG has 48 members with European Commission and the Zangger Committee Chair
participates as observers.

 The NSG Chair for 2015-2016 is Argentina.

 China, New Zealand, Ireland, Turkey and Austria are opposing India’s membership to NSG.

 Pakistan’s position on a need for a non-discriminatory criteria based approach for all non-NPT states is
supported by several countries including New Zealand, Austria, Ireland, Switzerland, Brazil, Mexico, Italy,
Kazakhstan and Belarus.

 In 2008, the NSG participating governments agreed to grant India a “clean waiver” from its existing rules,
which forbid nuclear trade with a country which has not signed the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

JAYANT SRIVASTAVA 3 weeks 0 Answers 11 views 0

Leave an answer


Captcha Click on image to update the captcha .